Assessment Committee Meeting of October 1, 2010



Members present: Chairman Dana Jones, Business School; Verine White, Lakota Studies Department; Mike Catches, Math & Sciences Department, Crystal Paulson, Applied Sciences Department; Deb Tobacco, Nursing Department; Dr. Andrew Thompson, Graduate Studies Department, Lenora Hudson, Assessment & Ex-officio member.



Meeting was called to order at 10:30 am, 10/1/2010


Wocekiya was said by Verine White


Lenora Hudson was introduced as Assessment Director. Lenora also noted that Rapid City student LeoNora Garcia would be the student representative at the next meeting


Agenda was considered and approved


Reading of the minutes from the last meeting done and approved


Old Business:


The committee then discussed the charge of the Administration, to review the student course evaluation survey forms to be used this fall, samples of past surveys were distributed to the members. Changes were made to merge the existing Perseus and SIR II documents, with direction to the Assessment Director


Old Business:


The committee then began discussions of the Lakota Syllabi Protocol that was developed last year, moved to the next meeting


The committee discussed the need to review the assessment policies in their entirety at the next meeting agenda, including an assessment timeline for all testing, course evaluations, etc.


All business being conducted, the meeting was adjourned at 12:15.

            Respectfully submitted, Andrew Thompson, Secretary